Jamaican Paddys

a very interesting post – thanks to Willie who drew it to my attention. hope you all enjoy it

da Zêna

A Short History of the Irish in Jamaica

“I only wish the poor Irish were half as well off”

Source: http://www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/jamaica.html

p016m58d[1]“When Irish eyes are smiling, sure It’s like the morning spring, in the lilt of Irish laughter, you can hear the angels sing; when Irish hearts are happy all the world seems bright and gay, and when Irish eyes are smiling, sure they’ll steal your heart away.”

In this short article l attempt to answer a puzzle that has bothered and intrigued me from I first set foot in Jamaica 20 years ago. What is it about this small island and it’s people, six thousand miles away from Ireland, and with a population that originated mainly from a different continent, that made me feel so at home, that caused me, and many like me to make it our home, and to cause many to ask if “I man born…

View original post 2,472 more words

Leave a Reply

