THE FIRST STAGE

As I walked through the wilderness of this world, I lighted on a town,  and laid me down in that place to sleep; and as I slept, I dreamed a dream. I dreamed, and behold, I saw a man clothed with rags, standing with his face from his own house,  and a great negative equity upon his back, no job and a bedroom tax.
burden
I looked and he brake out with a lamentable cry, saying, “What shall I do?” . He went home, and restrained himself as long as he could, that his wife and children should not perceive his distress; but he could not be silent long, because  his trouble increased.
Wherefore at length he brake his mind to his wife and children; he began to talk to them:
man talking
“O, my dear wife,” said he, “and you  my children, I, your dear friend, am in myself undone by reason of a debt that lieth hard upon me;  I am certainly informed  our house will be  lost to the bank; in which fearful overthrow, both myself, with thee my wife, and you my sweet babes, shall miserably come to ruin, except  some way of escape can be found whereby we may be delivered.”
relatives
At this his relations were sore amazed but  they believed that what he had said to them was true, The night was as troublesome to him as the day and instead of sleeping, he spent it in sighs and tears, crying,
“What shall I do to  save my family ?”.
despair
I saw also that he looked this way, and that way, as if he would run; yet he stood still because (as I perceived) he could not tell which way to go.
no way forward
I looked then, and saw a man named Evangelist coming to him, and he asked,
“why standest thou still?”
He answered, “Because I know not whither to go.”
Then he gave him a parchment roll, and there was written within,
bailiffs
“Fly from the bailiffs to come”.
The man said, “Whither must I fly?”
Then said Evangelist, (pointing with his finger over a very wide field.
“Do you see yonder airport? Do you see yonder plane?”
airport
He said, “I think I do.”
“Then” said Evangelist, “Keep that plane in your mind, and go up directly there, so shalt thou get the ticket and see the gate; at which, it shall be told thee what thou shalt do.”
boarding gate
So I saw in my dream that the man began to run. Now he had not run far from his own door when his wife and children, perceiving it, began to cry after him to return; but he looked not behind him,  and fled towards  the plane. The neighbours also came out to see him run, and among those that did so, there were two that were resolved to fetch him back
bring him home
by force. and in a little time they overtook him.
Then said the man, “Neighbours, wherefore are you come?”
They said, “To persuade you to go back with us.”
“That can by no means be: you dwell,” said he, “in the street  where I was born: I see that staying there, sooner or later, I will sink lower than the feckless scum of the unemployed, into destitution: be content, good neighbours, I’ll send money home”
disposable  income
Neighbour: What are the things you seek, since you leave all our world to find them?
Christian: I seek a steady job with an uncorruptible company, that fadeth not away on a temporary contract; and a safe pension that is laid up for my old age, and to be bestowed, at the time appointed, on me that hath diligently worked for it”
job security)
Chair of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions Pamela Dooley said “The crises which have swept across Europe, financial, economic, and political are mirrored here.For our members and their families there is no financial bail-out, only worry about an uncertain future.”

http://www.u.tv/News/G8-protest-defining-moment-in-history/73e273fe-358c-481f-aa84-3140bda205a7

Leave a Reply

